5 Months

IMG_8905

Ollie has been hitting quite a few milestones lately and isn’t showing signs of slowing down. It’s quite exciting but a bit sad because soon he won’t be a baby anymore. *Sigh* Tis life.

IMG_4944

His mature hair is coming in a bit curly *fingers crossed*. I can’t help but picture him being a curly-haired kid. But I’ll be happy if he’s an equal parts combination between G and myself. So far he’s looking a lot like his own person and I love it.

IMG_4962

He’s no longer happy reclining. He wants to be sitting and enjoys practicing. I can’t lie, I find it a bit amusing when he falls over.

IMG_9049

He is also no longer happy on his back. He rolled over from back to front in mid-July and he’s been determined to stay on his belly ever since. He now sleeps on his side. Doing so gave me heavy anxiety the first few nights but I’m over it now.

IMG_9053

He is OBSESSED with our cats. He’s always looking at them, especially Ludo since he’s always out and about. The cats are indifferent. But I think Ludo soon won’t be once he learns this wee person will be able to give him cuddles one day.

IMG_4987

He won’t stop sucking on his toes. So cute but so not helpful when trying to change his diaper. Changing his diaper has become a bit of an effort. He use to just kick but now he twists, crosses his legs, arches up. Oh boy.

IMG_5022

He’s making friends. I cannot wait to see how he and his friends interact as they get older. I’ve been loving the new moms I met at one of the coffee dates. One is the mom I was determined to befriend. She’s super nice and pretty much a go-go-go person. I need that because I find Ollie and I stay pretty much in our neighborhood (Um…I still haven’t learned to drive our manual car…yup). We need to start exploring more.

IMG_9176

The jumparoo is still a favorite. He looks at it longingly when he’s taken out of it (often because he’s tired and is ready to nap).

IMG_9178

Other milestones:

-He’s saying “Mama” a lot. Mostly when he gets upset when my husband is putting him to sleep. I don’t know if he knows I’m mama, but I don’t care. Sounds great to my ears.
-He’s showing interest in our food and tries to grab it. But really, he’s trying to grab everything lately.
-He’s getting better at his bedtime routine (bath, book, singing, rocking, bed). He’s also napping a lot better. He’s still waking up once to twice a night to feed but I don’t mind that so much.
-When my husband is holding him upright on his lap, he knows that when he bounces, G will lift him up in the air.
-He brightens up so much when he hears the music from our Music Together class.
-He knows how to use the instruments we’ve bought him (check it out here, and here). He’s a fast learner.

Soon he’s going to be half a year old. I’m looking forward to starting Baby-led weaning then. Hoping he will be sitting unassisted by then. I think he’s well on his way.

12 thoughts on “5 Months

  1. He’s a doll! Sounds like you guys are doing great! My son LOVED solid food — so much that he actually started grabbing for our food (and would watch each bite to our mouths with a wide-open-baby-bird mouth) around 2.5 months! I always think it’s so fun to start introducing them to food from our table.

    • I am so looking forward to it. I am also looking forward to being able to go out to a restaurant and feed him from our plate and not have to worry about comfortably nursing him in public.

    • I’m just waiting for him to change again. He used to be a great sleeper and now he has his bad days here and there. So of course now I am expecting him to forget one or several of the things he’s picking up. But whatever, I’m game 🙂

  2. I can almost see his personality! Your writing his milestones and what you’re doing is really helpful for me. I run out of ideas… Ollie is such a lucky boy to have you for a mama!

  3. So cute! I love hearing all about how Ollie is growing and progressing and I just love how perceptive you are and how you pick up on all of his quirks. I’m glad that you’re meeting other mums – it is not easy being new in a new city, something we talked about often!

Leave a Reply

