Week 30-Settling in

30 weeks and 4 days
Standing in the soon-to-be nursery

Our home life is far from normal but we are working on making it so. We have been quite busy running around getting bits of furniture that won’t be coming in our sea shipment (chairs, a table, a bed, etc).

Our air shipment arrived but a lot of our kitchenware was broken. Our enameled Dutch oven was cracked through. It’s iron! How did they bloody well crack iron? And our mixing bowls, one of our favorite, most used wedding gifts, destroyed. Some plates-pulverized. Not kidding. They were almost all in a powdery form. These things were professionally packed so it’s beyond me what happened between our old flat, the airplane and our new place. Now we are having to fill out insurance forms, because you know, we didn’t have enough on our plates. What plates we have left šŸ™‚

Oh well. Christmas dinner was saved by buying some chairs and a table that will become a sewing table after we get our dining table from Austin. My in-laws are in town so that made the holiday more festive. They have been oh so helpful with a lot of the heavy lifting.

We have also been getting reacquainted with our lovely kitties. They stayed with the in-laws while we were abroad. The price to ship them from New Mexico was way too dear. So there they stayed and were spoiled rotten.

Kitty and the bump.

Kitty and the bump

But my Ludo seems to have forgiven me. He’s been quite affectionate, even if a bit needy in the mornings.

As for the bump, he’s moving with more force and is preferring my right side. You can feel him quite settled there. He moves often, some days more than others.

We got his dresser and am hoping to get more bits here and there as time goes along. We may be inheriting a family crib but it all depends on how much it’ll cost to get it shipped to us from New Jersey. If the cost is too much we will definitely just buy one. Luckily I have one in mind.

I recently bought a bunch of fabric to start making little clothes, blankets, bibs,and burp clothes. Not all of them will be for Chexie. A few of my good friends are expecting soon after me so I have to get their gifts sorted. If there’s extra I plan to add them to my Etsy shop, I figure why not?

Slowly but surely I can see the end of this move. There’s still the sea shipment to unpack and the Austin stuff to move but at least we have a roof over our heads.

We got the keys to the new place and a rainbow to celebrate.

A rainbow the day we got the keys to our new place

12 thoughts on “Week 30-Settling in

  1. Awww, you’re looking fabulous!! Yay for having your kitties back and a huge thumbs down to your movers. That is not acceptable and certainly not the norm. It’s just painful and laborious to have to claim for and replace these goods now.

    • Thanks Mandy. I am really hoping the bloated look stays away! I’ve been good about drinking my water and moving when I can. Although, not so much when I first got to San Fran. But now that we live in a nice walkable neighborhood I see lots of walks in my future šŸ™‚

  2. You look great! That sucks about the stuff broken in the move. Best of luck setting in at your new home in San Fran… Can’t wait to hear all about your fabric shopping in that fantastic city! šŸ™‚

    • Thank you. I will definitely report back when I hit Britex and the lot. I think I will be going once my friend comes to visit next week. I’m quite excited to see what they offer.

  3. Great week 31 post! Not long now, for both of us!
    You do look beautiful and so darn trendy!
    I hope you click with your OB and doula šŸ™‚ I was quite surprised by the more (than I expected) natural approach to childbirth here in the PNW so I hope the bay area is similar. Good luck for the final 2 months!

Leave a Reply

