My baby blog intentions

Health
Being a plus size mama-to-be is a nerve-wrecking experience. There are no positives reflected in the medical community when it comes to plus-size pregnancies. You are constantly told to beware of gestational diabetes, high blood pressure, a forceps-assisted labor, and etc. So of course soon after finding out I was pregnant that feeling of elation was replaced with nervousness and anxiety. I had no intentions to be overweight (the doctor’s term for me would be obese) when pregnant. I was training for a half marathon when we fell pregnant. Unfortunately I hadn’t reached a fitness level that allowed me to continue. I was still out of shape and the struggle to continue was far too much for me. So I’ve settle for walks and yoga.

As far as food, I must admit that I am not eating all my necessary nutritional requirements. With little appetite during the first, and current, trimesters I gravitate towards foods that sound remotely nice: grapes, apples, Nutella, potatoes and beef. I am planning to post a chart on my fridge and tick off every time I fulfill a nutritional requirement. Seeing what I need to eat will be a lot easier than guessing.

I am hoping that keeping a blog will keep me honest about my healthy routines. There are many women who have wonderful, safe and smooth plus-size pregnancies. I am refusing to be scared and instead be aware of what I need to do to have a great pregnancy.

Fashion
I love dressing up and being pregnant isn’t going to change that. I’m actually really looking forward to making my maternity clothes. You see, I love to sew. I’m planning on embracing the layered look for fall. I have already made a sweet dress that will look great with cardigans, tights, sweaters, so on.

Final version of Simplicity 8670 (maternity pattern) in Liberty cotton and Japanese lace

I am really looking forward to sharing my plus-size maternity outfits. I am currently unemployed and need a reason to get dressed and going in the day! Why not make a photo shoot out of it?

Body Acceptance
I will never have that gorgeous sleek body with small cute bump. I will not fit into skinny jeans 2 weeks postpartum. It’s just not going to happen. Instead of mourning those facts I am going to celebrate the body that has allowed me to complete a number of road races, gets me from point A to B, and is giving us the baby we are so thankful for.

2 thoughts on “My baby blog intentions

  1. Let me preface my comment by saying I’m so not entitled to have one (I’m not a mumma, mumma to be, and have different weight issues, etc.), but I just want to compliment you so very much on what, seems from the outside, a happy and healthy mentality! That little bump of yours is going to be lucky to have a mumma like you who encourages healthy body acceptance (not to mention one who has killer style). Also I’m beginning to wonder if you have an expert photographer or photoshop team because I would never, ever consider labelling you ‘obese.’ Congratulations again on your little one x

    • Oh, Reana, how I *wish* I had a photoshop team. But no, having a robust BMI of 36 pushes me in the ‘obese’ category. I decided I was not going to let that information define me. My goals for myself and baby are simple: eat well, stay moving. I definitely don’t want to pass down my bad habits. The Husband and I have a lot of mental prep to do these coming months.

      Thank you so much for your encouraging words.

Leave a Reply

